It’s Hard to Say Goodbye

This week, I said good-bye to my “mom”.  She is my adopted mom from college.  Someone who battled cancer and lost.  I’ve known a lot of those people recently and it’s hard.  It’s hard to see them get the devastating news that cancer is now a regular part of their lives.  It’s hard to see them make difficult choices about treatment when the treatment is just as bad as the disease.  It’s hard to see them fight, to see them battle, to see their pain and suffering and then to see the cancer win.

But the war hasn’t been lost.  Many I know who have felt the pain of cancer have relied on their faith to give them the strength to fight the disease and, in the end,  the strength to say goodbye to this world with the peace of knowing what is waiting for them.  They knew they were going home.  “Mom” knew what was waiting for her, but she didn’t want to leave us with the pain of missing her.  I miss her.  She was one of those people who taught me how to love and truly care for the students I worked with.  If I had my wish, she would still be here, but she is where she should be, in the arms of her loving Savior.  Thank you “Mom” for all you were.  I know I’m not the only one you touched.

2 responses to “It’s Hard to Say Goodbye

  1. Hello Wendy! I found you on Snapshots around the world. How exciting with a brand new blog. I’m so sorry about the loss of your mom. This cancer.. it hits everywhere. I’m a nurse and work with lung cancer patients (among other lung patients) and I’m specialized in cancer care.. there’s way too much cancer around these days. I’m looking forward to read more of your blog.

    • Thank you so much. I haven’t touched on that my own mother also has breast cancer, Stage IV. I’m sure at some point, it will be making it’s way into the blog just a bit more. My heart is needing some healing after saying goodbye to someone I cared about so much. Thanks for your kind words and stopping by.

Leave a Reply

