Kickin’ Back

 

Here’s the thing, I love making lists.  Not only do I love making a list of things that need to be done, I absolutely love crossing things off said list.  It makes me happy, gives me a sense of accomplishment.  I know that sounds all good and everything, but here’s the thing…sometimes I need to let go of the list.  And that is hard for me to do.  You see, any moment that I’m not working on getting something completed on my list, I feel like I’m wasting time.  As a working musician who also homeschools 3 boys, I need order to the day or things won’t get done around here.  But I’m learning to let go a bit.

Fortunately, I’ve got a family who loves me where I’m at and challenges me in the right direction.  My sweet man will sometimes remind me that it is just as important to play with the boys as it is to have the dishes put away.  In fact, playing with them should be a bit higher on the priority list.  Then there was the day my youngest wrote, “Play with J..” on the bottom of my list.  Oh boy, that about did me in.

I’m learning that what the boys need more than a spotless house is a mom who will read, play games, go outside, or just enjoy hanging out.  I’m still going to do all my canning, freezing and getting the house spic and span this summer, but at the top of my to do list is going to be play and enjoy kickin’ back with my boys.

One response to “Kickin’ Back

  1. I also like making lists… but I rarely use them, LOL! I made a list of mandolin tunes to learn, a list of things to pack for our trip, etc.. usually I forget where I put the list:)

Leave a Reply

