Making Memories

That photo up there?  That’s me and my mom.  I once alluded to the fact that she has cancer.  Earlier this year, I attended 3 funerals in a month for people whom I cared about a great deal.  Each of them fought cancer and lost their battle.  This was just a couple of months after we found out mom’s cancer was back.  Not only did that spur on several lifestyle changes in my own life, it also led to wanting to make more memories with my mom.

As I sat at each funeral and listened to everyone talk about their wonderful memories of those people, I realized that I just have regular ones with my mom.  We haven’t done a whole lot to nurture any kind of friendship.  Because our personalities are quite different in some ways and awfully similar in others, we’ve had a rather rocky relationship over the years.  I don’t want that to be how I remember her.  I want to be able to talk about all the fun we had together, the laughing until we cried type of memories,  so I decided that it was time to do something about that.

For mom’s birthday this year, I gave her a cheesemaking class.  Ok, I’ll admit it, it was just a wee bit selfish as it was a class I also wanted to attend.  Mom was absolutely delighted though so on a hot Saturday afternoon, we headed out to a local farm and learned to make mozzarella together.  The cheese was amazing for snacking and then served on grilled bread with fresh from the garden tomatoes and basil.

We ate.  We drank.  (Kombucha for the first time…Yum!)  But most importantly, we laughed.

Leave a Reply

