I wished and things changed. Kind of.

I wished to live a healthier life so I dropped some weight, but I’ve still got more to go.  I’ve taught myself that it’s all right to have one brownie, just not the whole pan.  I’m working out 6 days a week and if I miss one of those days, my body itches to move.

I wished to be a better parent this year.  I’ve found that by taking that deep breath and reminding myself that they haven’t had a lot of practice in this life yet and they are still learning how this world works, I’m a much more loving parent.  We have a quote on our wall that says, ” May our home know joy, each room hold laughter, every window open to great possibilities.”  I see it several times a day and it serves as a reminder of what I want our home to be.

I wished to connect with others…and I’ve failed tremendously.  I’m just not good at putting myself out there.  I’d much rather the quiet of my little bubble.  I’ll work on it.  Honest, I will.

I wished to simplify my life and I am!  This is perhaps one of the most exciting/scary things.  As of the end of June, I am quitting my teaching.  I’ve only got 10 students right now, but we’ve decided that now is a good time.  With the kids needing more from me right now in schooling and life in general, this will free up my time a bit.  Still working on simplifying our household, but it is coming along.

I wished to create.  I’ve learned that I don’t like playing with paper nearly as much as I used to, but I do love sewing, knitting and cross stitching.  I’m even working on my first quilt.  Maybe I’ll post a picture.  It all depends on how it turns out.  Haven’t created with music yet, but with some of the extra time I’ll have from not teaching, I’m hoping to try writing music again.

Did you wish for anything this year?  How are they working out?

One response to “I wished and things changed. Kind of.

  1. Boys and Dogs! You gotta love em!! I did wish, this year, I wished I had got half the things done I wanted too! LOL!!

    Connie MJF

Leave a Reply

