Introverted, Nomadic, Pescatarian

A couple of weeks ago, I was teaching a class and we were asked by the lead teacher to share three words that described who we are.  We were challenged to try and find words that described more than just our roles in life.  It was difficult at first.  If you were to ask me who I am, I generally respond with wife, mother, musician, homeschooler, homemaker, but those words could be used to describe many people.  I know several in my own circle that fit that exact description.

So I breathed a sigh of relief as I looked around the room and realized that I had a good 3 minutes before it was going to be my turn.  We had many laughs and insight as each person shared.  My own son was in the group and it was interesting to hear him describe himself in a way I didn’t see him.  Hm, maybe this would be a good exercise for our family to do together. 

Anyway, it finally got around to me and the three words just popped into my head. 

I’m introverted.  Oh yes, I am.  I’ve been asked how that can be as I love to perform, to conduct large groups, to lead and speak, but as much as I love those things, they aren’t real contact with other people.  I’m most at home sitting at my piano or with my flute, alone with my music.  I could do that for hours and not feel tired.  I can spend hours, days without much contact with people and I feel energized.  As much as I love my book group, I’m exhausted after just being around and interacting with that many people for a couple of hours.  I promise that if you ever get me one on one, I will talk your ear off, but put me in a group setting, even a small group, and I will just stay quiet and take it all in.  It’s all right, I’ve finally found my place in our noisy world and I’m good with it.

Nomadic was my second word.  My husband would definitely agree with that.  I have about a 2 year cycle of needing something major to change.  Did I ever tell you that my husband doesn’t like change?  He’s good at helping me find ways to make small changes that keep me going.  Since he and I have been together: 1997 – Got married, 1998 – moved to Oregon, 1999 – had first kid(end of the year), 2002 – had 2nd kid (beginning of the year), 2003 – had 3rd kid, 2005 – moved to a more rural area, 2007 – got a new dog, 2009 – a new dog found us, 2011 – quite teaching music to focus more on homeschooling and hopefully performing again, 2012 – felt antsy…got a new dog.  Oh and through all this, I’m constantly bugging the husband about moving, to Alaska, or the East Coast, or maybe Europe.  See?  Not super huge changes, but just enough to keep me from going stir crazy.  Although I would be happy to start packing up the house for the big move.  Did I tell you my husband doesn’t like change?

And then there is pescatarian.  For those who don’t know what that means, it just means I’m basically a vegetarian who also eats seafood.  I blame it on my growing up years.  Living in Alaska, we mainly ate salmon and halibut with the occasional moose burger thrown in.  I still make all the meaty foods for the carnivores in our house, but I’ll stick to the foods I like and they don’t include meat. 

So, there you have it.  Now, what would your three words be?

Leave a Reply

